You are on page 1of 246

Seminars for Success:

Analytics
Google Analytics Implementation and Advanced Topics
WebShare, LLC

Seminars for Success Agenda

Morning

Afternoon

System Overview
Profiles
Internal Site Search
Filters
Profile and Filter Combos
Domains and Sub Domains
Regular Expressions

Goals and Funnels


Tracking Marketing Campaigns
Ecommerce Tracking
Custom Segmentation
New & Beta Features
Urchin6 Software (optional)
Trouble shooting (optional)

lunch

Logistics

Web Analytics a definition

Web analytics is the


study of online behaviour
in order to improve it.

Web Analytics - Data

Do these study online behavior?

Providing Answers to Difficult Questions

Where and why are visitors


Abandoning my shopping cart?

Where are my visitors


coming from?

Is my website design
driving
people away?

What do people do while


on my site?

Which marketing initiatives


are the most effective?

What keywords resonate


with prospects and have the
power to convert them?

Which Marketing Campaigns are Working?

Search Marketing
Banner Advertising

Email Marketing

Determine which
marketing initiatives
are driving the best
traffic to your site

Print Ads
Radio Ads
TV Ads
7

Web Analytics is a Process

Take
Action

Measure

Learn
8

How Google Analytics Works


Analytics
Standard Webserver

Secure Google
Analytics Servers

Site Search
Browser/HTML Page

AdWords GCLID Import


Filters Applied
Goals & Funnels
10

Report Database

Tracking Pitfalls
Client Side
1.

Javascript disabled
Visitors will not be tracked

2.

Cookies Deleted
Will appear as new visitors each time

3.

Multiple Browers & Computers


Will appear as new visitors each time

Server Side
1.

Multiple Domains

2.

Subdomains

3.

Redirects

4.

Frames/iFrames

5.

QueryString/Form based CMS

6.

RIA sites (AJAX/Flash)


11

Data Accuracy
No Analytics Package is 100% Accurate
JavaScript Based
Incomplete coverage
Other JS errors keep GA from loading
Firewalls/Browsers block JS
Mobile users rarely run JS
Log File Based
IP User
(mult. users per IP, mult. IPs per user)
Cached pages not counted
ALL file types are counted
Robots wreak havoc
Cookie Based
Browsers commonly configured to reject (1st party vs 3rd party)
Cookies deleted
Multiple users per computer, multiple computers per user

Look for Trends


12

Account Creation & Code Installation

13

Account Creation

14

Google Analytics Tracking Code

15

Inspecting the Tracking Code

<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ?
"https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "googleanalytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-475940-16");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>

16

Where should I Place the Tracking Code?


Option 1: bottom of the page

<HEAD>

Default & most conservative location

May cause problems if using advanced


features

..

GATC Option 2

</HEAD>

Option 2: in the header

<BODY>

Allows full use of GA functions, including


virtual pageviews, cross domain tracking,
etc.

Likely to register the hit before user has a


chance to navigate away/exit

Somewhat more risky

(Debatably) slower page loads

Frames site

.
.
.

</BODY>

GATC Option 1

17
Track All Pages!

The Most Important Function

<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-16");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>

18

The Most Important Function

<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-16");
pageTracker._trackPageview("/RecordThisPageInstead.html");
</script>

This is known as a Virtual Pageview


19

Multiple Virtual PageViews

<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-16");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
pageTracker._trackPageview("/RecordThisOneToo.html");
</script>

20

Tracking non-HTML

<a href=/content/us-en/w/widget1.pdf>
<a href=/content/us-en/w/widget1.pdf onClick="javascript:
pageTracker._trackPageview('/content/us-en/w/widget1.pdf');">
<a href=/content/us-en/w/widget1.pdf onClick="javascript:
pageTracker._trackPageview('/downloads/widget1.pdf');">
<a href=http://www.NotMySite.com onClick="javascript:
pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/NotMySite.com');">
<script>
pageTracker._trackPageview('/slideshow/puppy3.jpg');
</script>

Create Pageviews for Downloads, Outbound Links, Flash, AJAX, etc.


21

Virtual Pageviews

Best Practice:
Design with the end in mind
How many downloads did we get this month?
Which type of download was most popular?
Which whitepaper was most popular?

22

Virtual Pageviews
Best Practice:
Choose your hierarchy wisely
/downloads/binaries/WIN-viewer.exe
/downloads/binaries/Mac-viewer.exe
/downloads/whitepapers/GoGreen.pdf
/downloads/whitepapers/compare.pdf

How
Which
Which
many
Type
whitepaper
downloads
of download
was
didmost
we
wasget
most
popular?
thispopular?
month?
23

Tracking non-HTML

Best Practice:
Begin all virtual pageviews with an identifiable prefix
so that they can be identified and filtered
/virtual/PrintButton
/virtual/slideshow/GoForward
/virtual/slideshow/GoBack
/downloads/pictureviewer.exe

Note: Virtual Pageviews do affect bounce rate

24

Profiles &
Segmentation

25

Pick Your Analogy

US Traffic

AdWords
Only

Error Pages

WorldWide
Traffic
26

Profiles

WorldWide
Traffic

US Traffic

27

AdWords
Only

Only Error
Pages

Creating a New Profile

28

Adding a new Profile

1.

New code only if you enter a new domain

2.

Same domain (most common) uses existing tracking code

29

Adding a new Profile

30

Adding a new Profile

default.asp

31

Query Parameters

32

Session IDs and Other Trouble


URL

Pageviews

http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=green&sessionID=0923jlkmwe
http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=green&sessionID=iok302okp2
http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=green&sessionID=iksjadfw90u
http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=green&sessionID=xcvnoiewn3
http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=green&sessionID=89rujo32jj90
http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=green&sessionID=sxd09xc3m3

1
1
1
1
1
1

Unique for Each


Visitor

All the Same Page

URL

http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=green

33

Pageviews
6

sessionID

34

Real World Example

35

Profiles: Goals and Funnels

36

Profiles: Goals and Funnels

37

Profiles: Filters and Users

38

Profiles: Filters and Users

Blog
Make URI Lower Case

Administrators have access to all profiles

39

Internal Site Search: The Goldmine

40

Internal Site Search

test search term

41

Internal Site Search

query parameter
value
query parameter name

42

Internal Site Search

43

Internal Site Search


http://googlestore.com/category.asp?catid=search&searchtype=keyword&query=hoodie
http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=olympics&ei=UTF-8

http://googlestore.com/category.asp?catid=search&searchtype=price&search=3
44

Sub-domains & Cross Domain Tracking

45

Parts of an URL

hostname

http://blog.websharedesign.com/index.html
Protocol
SubDomain

Primary Domain
Request URI

Technically subdomains are entirely separate domains


(and treated as such)
46

Subdomain Tracking
Default:

Converted!

Canada.mysite.com

www.mysite.com

Referrer: Google/CPC

Referrer: Canada.mysite.com

Configured For
Subdomains:
Entire mysite.com Domain
Referrer: Google/CPC

# of Conversions

Who Gets Credit?

Canada.mysite.com

Google/CPC
47

Converted!

Cross-Domain Tracking
Default:

Converted!

www.mysite.com

shoppingcart.com

Referrer: Google/CPC

Referrer: www.mysite.com

Configured For
Cross-domain:
Synchronized mysite &
Shoppingcart.com Domain
Referrer: Google/CPC

# of Conversions

Who Gets Credit?

mysite.com

Google/CPC
48

Converted!

Subdomain Tracking
Default:
Canada.mysite.com

www.mysite.com

/index.html 24

/index.html 55

Configured For
Subdomains:
Entire mysite.com Domain
/index.html 79

Profile

Site

Pageviews

Goal
Conversions

Global Combined

*.mysite.com

11078

669

Blog Only

Blog.mysite.com

2693

123

Canada Only

Canada.mysite.com

3301

202

49

Sub-domain Tracking

(1st party) Cookie domain:

(1st party) Cookie domain:

websharedesign.com

blog.websharedesign.com
Same tracking
code

Same tracking
code

50

Subdomain Tracking

<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ?
"https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "googleanalytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-XXXXXX-X");
pageTracker._setDomainName(websharedesign.com");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>

51

Sub-domain Tracking

Cookie domain:

Cookie domain:

websharedesign.com

websharedesign.com

52

Sub domain Tracking Hostname Filter

53

Cross-domain Tracking

Cookie domain:

Cookie domain:
googlestore.com

authorize.net

54

Cross-domain Tracking

Step 2: Attach the


cookie to the URL

Step 1: Configure
2nd domain to accept
the cookies
www.shoppingcart.com

www.mysite.com

55

Cross-domain Tracking
STEP 1: Tell GATC to accept the cookie transfer
<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ?
"https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "googleanalytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-XXXXXX-X");
pageTracker._setDomainName("authorize.net");
pageTracker._setAllowLinker(true);
pageTracker._setAllowHash(false);
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>
For Google Store site:
pageTracker._setDomainName(GoogleStore.com");
For authorize.net site:
pageTracker._setDomainName(authorize.net");
56

Cross Domain Tracking

Go to Checkout
with this link

By Link:
<a href="http://www.checkout.paypal.com"
onclick="pageTracker._link(this); return
false;">checkout now</a>

By Form:
<form action=http://www.checkout.google.com
name=c method="post"
onsubmit="pageTracker._linkByPost(this)"> . . .
</form>

57

Multiple Accounts

GM
Global
Chevy.com
GMC.com
Corvette.com
http://www.chevrolet.com/mds/pages/affordability.do

Opel.com
GMAC.com

58

Multiple Accounts

GM
Global
Chevy.com
GMC.com
Corvette.com
www.gmc.com/summersavings.do?brandId=gc&src=hom

Opel.com
GMAC.com

59

Multiple Accounts
<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js'
type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>

<script type="text/javascript">
try {var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-yy");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
try {var GMtracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-UUUUUU-ZZ");
GMtracker._trackPageview("/chevy/pricing/");
} catch(err) {}</script>

60

Regular Expressions

Regular Expressions
(A.K.A. RegEx)

61

Regular Expressions

62

Regular Expressions

Regular expressions provide a concise


and flexible means for identifying strings
of text of interest, such as particular
characters, words, or patterns of characters.

1.
2.
3.
4.

Wildcards .,-,*,+,?,|
Anchors ^,$
Grouping (), [], Escaping \
63

Regular Expressions

64

Regular Expressions
Wildcards
wildcard description

.
*
+
?
|

example

matches

match any single character

wi.gets

widgets, wiggets, wi3gets

match 0 or more of previous

fun*y

fuy, funy, funnnnnnnnny

match 1 or more of previous

fun+y

funy, funnnnnnny (not fuy)

match 0 or 1 of previous

colou?r

color, colour (not colouur)

Logical OR

widgets|funny|color

widgets, funny, color

Anchors
Anchor

^
$

Description
must occur at beginning
must occur at end

Example

Matches

^widget

widget, widgets, but


NOT bluewidgets

widget$

widget, bluewidget, but


NOT widgets

65

Regular Expressions
Grouping
Grouping

Description

Example

Matches

()

create match on an item

grand(ma|pa)

grandma, grandpa

[]

Create match on one of a


list of items

product[135]

product1, product3, product5,


(not product4)

Escaping
Character

Description

Example

Matches

escapes any special


character

my\-page\.html

my-page.html

Very Important in GA
66

RegEx Quiz

Page(s) I want to track:


/order.php?action=order&type=hat&sid=123456
/order.php?action=order&type=jacket&sid=123456

Page(s) I do not want to track:


/order.php?action=order&type=shirt&sid=123456

Regular Expression Pattern:


/order\.php\?action=order&type=(hat|jacket)

Wildcard

Description
Logical OR

Example
widgets|funny|color

67

Matches
widgets, funny, color

RegEx Quiz

Page(s) I want to track:


/order.php?action=order&type=hat&sid=123456

Page(s) I do not want to track:


/preview/order.php?action=order&type=hat&sid=123456

Regular Expression Pattern:


^/order\.php

Anchor

Description

must occur at
beginning

Example

Matches

^widget

widget, widgets, but


NOT bluewidgets

68

RegEx Quiz
Pages I want to track:
/order.php?action=order&type=hat&sid=123456
/order.php?action=AddToCart&type=shirt&sid=123456
/order.php?action=order&type=jacket&sid=123456

Pages I do not want to track:


/preview/order.php?action=order&type=hat&sid=123456

Regular Expression*
^/order\.php\?action=(order|AddToCart)&type=(hat|shirt|jacket)

Bonus: What if I want to match?


/order.php?action=order&sid=123456&type=shirt

Regular Expression
^/order\.php\?action=(order|AddToCart)&sid=(.*)&type=(hat|shirt|jacket)

69

Profile Filters
Standard Filters
Custom Filters
Advanced Filters

71

Profile Filters (Permanent)


Analytics
Standard Webserver

Secure Google
Analytics Servers

Site Search
Browser/HTML Page

AdWords GCLID Import


Filters Applied
Goals & Funnels
72

Report Database

Profile Filters (Permanent)


Standard Webserver
Hostname = www.GoogleStore.com
Request URI = /product.asp?code=GO42050
Secure Google
Campaign Source = Google
Analytics Servers
Campaign Medium = cpc
Campaign Name = games
Visitor IP= 74.62.19.202
Browser/HTML Page

Page Title= Tumbling Tower Block Game


Operating System= Windows XP
Browser Screen Res.= 1600 x 1080

73

Browser Defined Fields

Visitor Java Enabled?


Visitor Flash version
Visitor IP Address
Visitor Geographic Domain
Visitor ISP Organization
Visitor Country
Visitor Region
Visitor City
Visitor Connection Speed
Visitor Type
Custom Field 1
Custom Field 2

Request URI
Hostname
Referral
Page Title
Visitor Browser Program
Visitor Browser Version
Visitor Operating System Platform
Visitor Operating System Version
Visitor Language Settings
Visitor Screen Resolution
Visitor Screen Colors

74

User/Website Defined Fields

Campaign Source
Campaign Medium
Campaign Name
Campaign Term
Campaign Content
User Defined
E-Commerce Transaction Id

E-Commerce Transaction Country


E-Commerce Transaction Region
E-Commerce Transaction City
E-Commerce Store or Order Location
E-Commerce Item Name
E-Commerce Item Code
E-Commerce Item Variation

75

Use Filters to Customize Profiles

WorldWide
Traffic

US Traffic

76

AdWords
Only

Only Error
Pages

Adding a filter

77

Adding a filter

78

Template Filters

79

Custom Filters

80

Request URI
Hostname
Referral
Page Title
Visitor Browser Program
Visitor Browser Version
Visitor Operating System Platform
Visitor Operating System Version
Visitor Language Settings
Visitor Screen Resolution
Visitor Screen Colors
Visitor Java Enabled?
Visitor Flash version
Visitor IP Address
Visitor Geographic Domain
Visitor ISP Organization
Visitor Country
Visitor Region
Visitor City
Visitor Connection Speed
Visitor Type
Custom Field 1
Custom Field 2
Campaign Source
Campaign Medium
Campaign Name
Campaign Term
Campaign Content

81

Exclude Filter Example

RegEx

Anything that matches the filter is excluded


82

Filtered Profile

Unfiltered Profile
6,998

5,698

6,529

5,425

/seminars-for-success/

/seminars-for-success/

/index.php

/index.php

/google-consulting-services/

/google-consulting-services/

/register-seminars-for-success

/register-seminars-for-success

/google-consulting-services

/google-consulting-services

/outgoing/analytics.google.com

/training-solutions

/training-solutions

/contact-us

/contact-us
/outgoing/webanalyticsassociation.org

83

Include Filter Example

84

Include Filters

1,145

google / organic

msn / cpc

yahoo / organic

facebook / ppc

msn / cpc
facebook / ppc

Filtered Profile

Unfiltered Profile

85

Cascading Filters

Cascaded Include Filters form a Logical AND


Include:

Include:

Campaign Medium = cpc

Visitor Region=Utah

Only data from visitors who are from Utah AND


arrived via CPC will be included in the profile
All Visitors
Utah
CPC

Organic

86

Cascading Filters

Cascaded Exclude Filters form a Logical OR


Exclude:

Exclude:

Campaign Medium = cpc

Visitor Region=Utah

If a visitor is from Utah, but arrived via email, their data


will not be in the profile (only has to match one)
All Visitors
Utah

CPC

87

Lowercase Filters
URL

Pageviews

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_analytics
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_Analytics
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/google_analytics
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GOOGLE_analytics

88

2560
3338
256985
12563

Search and Replace Filters

89

Search and Replace Filters


http://googlestore.com/product.asp?catid=2&code=GO67005

90

Advanced Filters

RegEx

91

Filters Segment the Segments

92

How to Segment a Funnel?

93

Filter Best Practice


Profile filters are permanent
(No reprocessing of data. Ever!)

Always create a raw unfiltered profile

95

View More Than 500 Rows!

Note: Unsupported Feature


96

Quiz
Audience Quiz:
How would I create a profile that had only Google
AdWords traffic?

97

AdWords Search Queries


Bidding on: Florida vacation
Phrase Match:
Broad Match: Florida family vacation, Florida vacations
Extended Broad Match: Florida hotel room, tropical vacations, Caribbean cruises,
Florida flights, Florida fishing trips, Cancun all-inclusive,

98

AdWords Search Queries

In the past, an advanced filter was needed to see exact


AdWords search queries.
99

AdWords Filter: Results

100

Goals and Funnels


Watching mere visitors graduate to customers

102

Goals and Funnels

Not using goals is a


crime against
humanity
Avinash Kaushik
Analytics Evangelist, Google

103

Online Stores Are Easy

104

Goals Why do you have a website?

Lead Generation

Call Us

Mailing List
e-Commerce

Affiliate / Ads

Support

Information

Human Resources
105

Conversion Reporting
Audience Quiz: Assuming $1 profit per sale and both
were $0.30 CPC, which campaign is more profitable?
Ad
Version
AdWords
Ad A

AdWords
Ad B

# of Visitors

# of Conversions

990

0
100

480

Bonus: What do you lose by stopping A completely?


106

Use RATES and keep it in context

107

AdWords vs Analytics Conversion Tracking

Google Onesie

108

AdWords vs Analytics Conversion Tracking


Pageviews
/home.asp
/category.asp?catid=3
/product.asp?catid=3&code=GO0157
/checkout.asp
/thankyou.asp
/home.asp

109

Goals are based


solely on the URI
(including virtual pageviews)

Goal Creation

110

Goal Creation

111

Goal Creation

112

Goal Creation

Step 1: Identify the URL of the goal page

/newsletter/form/success.php
Tip: domains are meaningless for goals

113

Goal Creation

Step 2: Identify what makes the URI unique


/tests/samplesize/success.php
/contact/form/success.php
/newsletter/form/success.php
1. Does the URL only appear in this situation?
2. Do the parts of the URL appear in other page URLs?
/newsletter/form/success.php

114

Step 3: Select Appropriate Match Type/Options


Type: Exact Match: Must match the URI exactly, no extra characters (even spaces)
Goal Form Entry: /newsletter/form/success.php
URI: /newsletter/form/success.php
URI: /newsletter/form/success.php?confirmation=4528323

Type: Head Match: (most common) Match the beginning of the URI
Goal Form Entry: /newsletter/form/success.php
URI: /newsletter/form/success.php
URI: /newsletter/form/success.php?confirmation=4528323

Type: RegEx Match: If RegEx pattern matches URI, the goal is counted.
Goal Form Entry: ^/newsletter/form/success\.php
URI: /newsletter/form/success.php?confirmation=4528323
URI: /internal/newsletter/form/success.php?confirmation=4528323
115

Testing RegEx Match


Goal: To match our Google Consulting Services Pages
Pages I want to match:
/google-consulting-services/google-website-optimizer-consulting
/google-consulting-services/google-analytics-consulting-services
Goal URL (RegEx):
consulting

116

Testing RegEx Match


Goal: To match our Google Consulting Services
Pages I want to match:
/google-consulting-services/google-website-optimizer-consulting
/google-consulting-services/google-analytics-consulting-services
Goal URL (RegEx):
google(.*)consulting

117

Testing RegEx Match


Goal: To match our Google Consulting Services
Pages I want to match:
/google-consulting-services/google-website-optimizer-consulting
/google-consulting-services/google-analytics-consulting-services
Goal URL (RegEx):
google(.*)consulting(.*)$

118

Testing RegEx Match


Goal: To match our Google Consulting Services
Pages I want to match:
/google-consulting-services/google-website-optimizer-consulting
/google-consulting-services/google-analytics-consulting-services
Goal URL (RegEx):
services\/google(.*)consulting(.*)$

119

Goal Creation

120

121

122

How Google Analytics Works


Analytics
Standard Webserver

Secure Google
Analytics Servers

Site Search
Browser/HTML Page

AdWords GCLID Import


Filters Applied
Goals & Funnels
123

Report Database

Details
Details

1. Visitors only convert each goal once


per visit
(Goal URI pageviews Conversions)
2. Filters affect goals
3. Goals are specific to a particular profile
4. Group Logical goals
(all HR in one profile, etc.)

124

Goal Conversion Reports

125

Goals: Defined Funnel Navigation

126

Goals: Defined Funnel Navigation

127

Goals: Defined Funnel Navigation

Goal path looks like this:


Step
Step
Step
Step

1:
2:
3:
4:

View Apparel Product Category Page


View Product Page
View Shopping Cart
Completed Order

What does that look like in the funnel config?


Step 1:
Step 2:
Step 2:
Step 2:
Step 3:
Step 4:

/category.asp?catid=apparel
/product/shirts.asp
/product/(shirts|hats|jackets)\.asp
/product/hats.asp
/product/jackets.asp
/cart/checkout.asp
/cart/thankyou.asp

128

Goals: Defined Funnel Navigation

Only matters for


funnel report

129

Use of Required First Step

Form Error:

130

Funnel Pitfalls

Form submits to itself


Step 1: /registration/form.php
Step 2: /registration/form.php

Also common with CMSs

Solution: Unique URL identifier or use virtual


pageviews

Funnels are session based


Tends to make entrance/exit paths look strange

131

Break?

132

Campaign Tracking

I fully believe half


the money I spend on
advertising is wasted;
the trouble is I don't
know which half.
John Wanamaker
(July 1838 December 1922)

Accurate analytics is a major


competitive advantage
133

134

How Campaign Tracking Works


http://www.websharedesign.com/s4s?utm_campaign=campaign
&utm_source=source&utm_medium=medium&utm_content=conten
t

135

How Campaign Tracking Works


http://www.websharedesign.com/s4s?utm_campaign=campaign
&utm_source=source&utm_medium=medium&utm_content=conten
t

__utmz
<GATC>
136

www.websharedesign.com/s4s?utm_campaign
=campaign&utm_source=source&utm_medium=
medium&utm_content=content&utm_term=ter
m

Attribute

Parameter

Campaign

utm_campaign

Medium

utm_medium

Source

utm_source

Content

utm_content

Keyword

utm_term

141

www.websharedesign.com/s4s?utm_campaign
=spring2010&utm_source=newsletter&utm_m
edium=email&utm_content=topbutton&utm_term=

Attribute

Parameter

Value

Campaign

utm_campaign

Spring2010

Medium

utm_medium

email

Source

utm_source

newsletter

Content

utm_content

top-button

Keyword

utm_term

<n/a>

142

Campaign Tracking

YSM Link Tagging Example


Campaign: seminars
utm_campaign=seminars
Source: yahoo search marketing
utm_source=yahoo
Medium: cpc
utm_medium=cpc
Ad Version
utm_content=LearnFromExperts
Display URL:
http://websharedesign.com/GoogleSeminars

Tagged Destination URL:


http://websharedesign.com/GoogleSeminars?utm_campaign=seminars&utm_source=yahoo&utm_mediu
m=cpc&utm_content=LearnFromExperts

143

Campaign Tagging Wizard

144

Bing Paid Search Tagging

utm_source=msn
utm_medium=cpc
utm_term={keyword}
utm_content=m{AdID}
utm_campaign=YOUR_CAMPAIGN_NAME

www.websharedesign.com/s4s?utm_campaign=mycampaign&utm_source=msn&utm_medium=cpc&utm_con
tent=m{AdID}&utm_term={keyword}

145

Yahoo Paid Search Tagging

utm_source=yahoo
utm_medium=cpc
utm_term={YSMKEY}
utm_content=y{YSMADID}
utm_campaign=YOUR_CAMPAIGN_NAME

www.websharedesign.com/s4s?utm_campaign=mycampaign&utm_source=yahoo&utm_medium=cpc&utm_
content=y{YSMADID}&utm_term={YSMKEY}

146

http://www.redsox.com/index.jsp?utm_c
ampaign=2009-ticketsale&utm_medium=banner&utm_source=
boston.com&utm_content=125x125

http://www.redsox.com/index.jsp?utm_campaign
=2009-ticketsale&utm_medium=banner&utm_source=boston.
com&utm_content=468x60

Traffic Sources - Campaigns

150

Email Tracking Ideas


Parameter

Values

Campaign

[Campaign Name]

Medium

email

Source

gender-female
gender-male
gender-all
purchase-last-30
purchase-last60

Content

free-shipping
20-off
product-creative
value-creative

151

Use a Central Tracking Sheet

152

AdWords

153

AdWords

154

AdWords Troubleshooting

All Zeros = No AutoTagging in AdWords

Blank = not linked

155

Why dont they match??

1.

Page not tagged properly with GA

2.

Redirect strips URL tagging

3.

Multiple clicks on Ad

4.

Incomplete page load

5.

Cookies/Javascript not enabled

6.

Invalid clicks removed

Note: GA data is delayed in order to complete click fraud processing


156

Import GA Goals into AdWords

Analytics

- No Extra Code
- Import Goals AND Transactions
- Improved ROI Tracking
- Integrates with Conversion Optimizer

157

Import GA Goals into AdWords

- Link Google Analytics to AdWords


- Select Data Sharing Option in Google Analytics
- Create at least one Google Analytics Goal
- Link your GA Goal to AdWords

158

Goal Import Considerations

Analytics
Analytics vs. AdWords Conversion Discrepancies
- Clicks vs. Visits
- Cookie expiration dates
- Data processing delays

159

How do I track offline


marketing with Google
Analytics?

161

Sign up for Google


Analytics and get a free
Frisbee!
www.google.com/analytics/?utm_source=clearchannel&utm_medium=billboar
ds&utm_content=frisbee&utm_campaign=GoogleAnalyticsGiveaways

162

Vanity URLs

www.SimplifyYourSecurity.com
163

Vanity URLs

Server Side 301 Redirect

Always use a unique vanity URL per


ad to avoid cross contamination
Using Apache .htaccess:
redirect 301 /GetOptimized
http://www.websharedesign.com/conversionmarketing?utm_source=GoogleSeminars&utm_medium=s
peaking&utm_campaign=WebsiteOptimizer

165

Using Existing Query Params


Existing URL
http://example.com/mypage.php?src=AD31&cmp=S4S&med=email
After GA URL Builder
http://example.com/mypage.php?src=AD31&cmp=S4S&med=email
&utm_source=AD31&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=S4S
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxx-1");
pageTracker._setCampNameKey("cmp");
pageTracker._setCampSourceKey("src");
pageTracker._setCampMediumKey("med");
pageTracker._trackPageview();

166

167

Cookies & Source Attribution


utmcsr=source| utmccn=Camp. Name | utmcmd=medium | utmctr=term

UTMZ
Cookie:
(blank)

UTMZ Cookie:
utmcsr=(direct)
utmccn=(direct)
utmcmd=(none)

UTMZ Cookie:

UTMZ
Cookie:
UTMZ
Cookie:

utmcsr=(google)
utmccn=(organic)
utmcmd=(organic)
utmctr=webshare

utmcsr=wsj.com
utmccn=(referral)
utmcmd=referral
utmctr=webshare

What source gets credit for the conversion?


Referrals
Organic

Tagged
CPC

>

Direct

168

GA Cookies
Exclusively First Party Cookies

169

Cookies
Cookie
Name

__utma

Time to live

2 years

Purpose
Stores domain and visitor info
(timestamp of 1st visit, # sessions to date, etc.)

__utmb

Session (30 mins) Stores ID to uniquely identify each session

__utmc

Session (30 mins) Stores session info

__utmk

Verifies data integrity


Session (30 mins)
Used by link() and linkByPost()
commands in X-domain/subdomain.

__utmv

__utmz

2 years

6 months

Stores custom segmentation variable


Stores campaign &referrer info.
(referrer, keyword, medium, cmp. Source, cmp.
name, etc.)
170

Cookies
Cookie
Name

__utma

Time to live

2 years

Purpose
Stores domain and visitor info
(timestamp of 1st visit, # sessions to date, etc.)

__utmb

Session (30 mins) Stores ID to uniquely identify each session

__utmc

Session (30 mins) Stores session info

__utmk

Verifies data integrity


Session (30 mins)
Used by link() and linkByPost()
commands in X-domain/subdomain.

__utmv

__utmz

2 years

6 months

Stores custom segmentation variable


Stores campaign &referrer info.
(referrer, keyword, medium, cmp. Source, cmp.
name, etc.)
171

Modifying the Session Timeout

<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-19");
pageTracker._setSessiontimeout(3600); //1 hour
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>

172

Modifying the Conversion Referral Cookie

<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-19");
pageTracker._setCookieTimeout(2592000); //6 mos to 30 days
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>

173

Ignoring Keywords (Treat as Direct)

<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-19");
pageTracker._addIgnoreOrganic(websharedesign.com);
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>

174

E-Commerce Tracking

175

Ecommerce Overview

176

How to Enable E-commerce Reports?

Step 1:

Step 2:
<script type="text/javascript">

177

<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." :
"http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "googleanalytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxx-x");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
pageTracker._addTrans(
"1234", // Order ID
Google Store", // Affiliation
27.82", // Total
2.22", // Tax
"5", // Shipping
San Diego", // City
"California", // State
"USA" // Country
);
pageTracker._addItem(
"1234", // Order ID
backpack33", // SKU
Google Kids Backpack", // Product Name
apparel", // Category
13.91", // Price
2" // Quantity
);
pageTracker._trackTrans();
</script>

178

$27.82

Repurpose E-commerce Module


I dont sell

item

transaction

anything on
my site

Ecommerce

Lead Generation

Order ID

12345

12345

Affiliation

optional

optional

Total

actual sale value

average lead value

Tax

sales tax

N/a

Shipping

shipping cost

N/a

City

Anytown

Anytown

State

CA

CA

Country

USA

USA

Order ID

12345

12345

SKU

G-98765

N/a

Product Name

T-shirt

Lead

Category

Clothing

General Services

Price

item price

average lead value

Quantity

179

Break?

180

Custom Segmentation
User Defined Variables

181

Custom Segmentation

???
Lots of Scenarios

Previously Purchased vs Never Purchased

In what timeframe do you plan to purchase?

Please select your household income bracket

People who have visited over 5 pages

Average order value when previous checkout included sale/discounted item

What will you track?

182

Custom Segmentation

Note:
Utilizes __utmv cookie
Session values are based on the cookie status at the start of the visit
183

___

<script> pageTracker._setVar(PriorPurchase');</script>
$27.82

184

Implementing Custom Segmentation

Via Drop Downs


<form
onSubmit="pageTracker._setVar(this.LeadGenMenu.options
[this.LeadGenMenu.selectedIndex].value);">
<select name=LeadGenMenu>
<option>Immediately</option>
<option>Within 1 Month</option>
<option>Within 1 year</option>
<option>Just Browsing</option>

Via Links
<a href=newsletter-signup-confirmation.html"
onClick="pageTracker._setVar(NewsletterSubscriber');">
Click here</a>

185

New & Beta


Features

186

New Feature MULTIPLE Custom Variables


Gender=male

Visitor
Visits

Pageviews

187

New Feature MULTIPLE Custom Variables


_setCustomVar(index, name, value, opt_scope)

indexThe slot for the custom variable. (range from: 1 5)


nameKey (string)
valueValue (string)
opt_scopeScope: 1 (page-level), 2 (session-level), or 3 (visitorlevel). Default = 1

pageTracker._setCustomVar(
1,
//
Added Item to Cart", //
"Yes",
//
2
//
);

This custom var is set to slot #1


The name acts as a category for the user activity
This value of the custom variable
Sets the scope to session-level

188

New Feature MULTIPLE Custom Variables


type
news
[page]

funnel
added
[session]

type
news
[page]

funnel
purchase
[session]

funnel
added
[session]

type
support
[page]

type=news
type=support

2
1

funnel=added

funnel=purchase

189

Event Tracking

Event Tracking

190

Event Tracking
Pageview model Breaks Down
Virtual Pageviews have drawbacks
Event tracking is much more flexible
and allows for better segmentation

Great for:
Video players
Rich Internet Applications
Flash/AJAX/etc.
Timer based events
File downloads
Outbound link clicks
Generic Events
191

Google Analytics Hierarchy

Visitor
Visits

Pageviews

Events
192

Event Tracking
Category
A way to group objects to track together

Object
What we are tracking (Video Player)

Action
What we do to interact with the object
(start, stop, pause, play new video, change volume)

Labels
Optional string to give more information about the event being tracked

Values
Optional integer parameter to track a value (e.g. seconds played)
193

Event Tracking
pageTracker._trackEvent("Videos", "Play", "Gone With the Wind");
pageTracker._trackEvent("Videos", "Pause", "Gone With the Wind");
pageTracker._trackEvent("Videos", "Stop", "Gone With the Wind");

Category

Action

194

Label

Event Tracking Case Study


Whos using these sharing
and social media outlets?
Are they benefiting?
Which ones are being
used the most? Which
applications of each?
Does social media make a
visitor more likely to buy
a ticket?
Are we driving more
traffic to our site as a
result? Are we driving
more sales and revenue?

195

Event Tracking Case Study

196

Event Tracking Case Study

197

Event Tracking Case Study


How much revenue and how many transactions resulted from visitors in
Chicago that used Facebook Connect and found the site via the keyword
lollapalooza 2009?

198

Event Tracking Case Study


What kind of revenue and ticket sales resulted from Twitter sharing yesterday?

http://bit.ly/XHmA1

http://www.lollapalooza.com/?utm_campaign=Lolla2009&utm_source=twitter
&utm_medium=share

199

Creating Custom Reports

200

Creating Custom Reports


Predefined Report Example:

201

Custom Reporting

202

Custom Reporting Available Metrics

203

Custom Reporting Adding Metrics

204

Custom Reporting Available Dimensions

205

Custom Reporting Adding Dimensions

206

Custom Reporting - Example

207

Custom Reporting - Example

208

Custom Reporting - Example

209

Custom Reporting - Example

210

Advanced Segmentation

211

Advanced Segmentation Using Default Segments

212

Advanced Segmentation Using Default Segments

213

Advanced Segmentation Custom Segments

214

Advanced Segmentation Creating Custom Segments

215

Advanced Segmentation Creating Custom Segments

216

Advanced Segmentation Creating Custom Segments

217

Advanced Segmentation Creating Custom Segments

218

Advanced Segmentation Creating Custom Segments

219

Advanced Segmentation Creating Custom Segments

220

Tons of Possibilities
Highly Engaged Visitors

Regular Visitors

Branded Keywords

221

Advanced Segmentation - Notes


Custom Segments exist at the Google account level
They will be available in all Analytics accounts your Google
Account has access to
They may not all work the same way across different accounts!

Tip:
Use the reports to identify the data you want to include in your
custom segments

222

Adv. Segments: Are Filters Unnecessary?


http://Googlestore.com/privacy.html
http://Googlestore.com/products/flyingdisk.html
/products/flyingdisk.html
/privacy.html
/category/babystuff.html

/products/flyingdisk.html

/products/yoyo.html

/products/yoyo.html

/products/hat.html

/products/hat.html

/AboutUs.html
/ShippingPolicy.html
/index.html
/checkout.html
/products/pocketPuzzle.html

/products/pocketPuzzle.html
Type: Include
Filter Field:
Request URI
Filter Pattern:
^/products/

223

Adv. Segments: Are Filters Unnecessary?

/products/flyingdisk.html
/products/flyingdisk.html

/privacy.html

/privacy.html

/category/babystuff.html

/products/yoyo.html

/products/yoyo.html

/products/hat.html

/products/hat.html

/AboutUs.html

/AboutUs.html

/ShippingPolicy.html

/ShippingPolicy.html

/index.html

/index.html
/checkout.html
/products/pocketPuzzle.html
224

Adv. Segments: Are Filters Unnecessary?

Adv. Segments are


Session based

Filters are
Pageview based

Engagement Metrics
Cannot filter on IP Address
Segments can only filter,
not modify
Beta (Funnels/TV/etc)
225

Data API
How can I.
Create a report with data combined from multiple accounts?
PrimarySite.com
Pull GA data into my CoBrandSite.com
internal company reporting
software?
MicroSite.com
Create my own custom apps?

Enterprise Roll-Up Report

226

Data Export API


Analytics
Standard Webserver

API Query from


Application
Secure Google
Analytics Servers

Site Search
Browser/HTML Page

AdWords GCLID Import


Filters Applied
Goals & Funnels
227

Report Database

Mobile App Tracking

228

Urchin 6

Standalone Software

Doesnt need Javascript

Additional IT-centric reports

Processing control (every minute!)

Requires access to logs

Can run filter on historical data (reprocessing of data)

Automatically Tracks all site activity


Downloads (full/partial), Errors/404s, Robots

Import different sources of data (cost data from your Yahoo! reports)

3rd party audits!

Conspiracy!
229

Final Exam Time!

(no peeking on notes!)


230

Filters & Data Accuracy

61,709
Lowercase
Filter

231

Filters & Data Accuracy

google / organic

msn / cpc

yahoo / organic

facebook / ppc

msn / cpc
facebook / ppc

Include Only
PPC&CPC

233

Common Settings

/catalog.asp?prodid=123&session=18x5cs3

/catalog.asp?prodid=123

/catalog.asp?prodid=123&session=98vt234
/catalog.asp?prodid=123&session=4n563u1
/catalog.asp?prodid=123&session=98gd32f

Exclude Query
Parameters

234

Common Settings

200

/index.html

85

/index.html

Default
Page
235

285

Common Filters

/services/aboutUs.html

/services/aboutUs.html

/employees/TimeSheet.html
/employees/PartyPlanning.php
/login/myDetails.asp
/login/myCalendar.asp

Include
SubDirectory

236

Common Filters

/products.php?sku=100012

/products.php?sku=BlueTshirt

/products.php?sku=100013

/products.php?sku=RedTshirt

/products.php?sku=100008

/products.php?sku=GreenSocks

/products.php?sku=100024

/products.php?sku=BaseballCap

Search &
Replace

237

Filters & Data Accuracy

/index.php

www.mysite.com/index.php

/main.asp

blog.mysite.com/main.asp

/home.html

thirdpartyshoppingcart.com/home.html

Hostname
Injection

238

Filters & Data Accuracy

100.100.100.1 (my IP address)

20

100.100.100.2 (my company IP range)

40

google / organic

google / organic

600
660

Exclude
Internal IPs

239

600

Common Filters

www.mysite.com/page1.html

esp.mysite.com/page1.html

esp.mysite.com/page1.html
fr.mysite.com/page1.html
de.mysite.com/page1.html

Include Filter
(hostname)

240

Common Filters

www.mywebsite.com

www.mywebsite.com

www.mywebsite.org

www.mywebsite.org

www.someforumpost.com
www.somescrapingsite.com
www.someonemessingwithmydata.com

Include Filter
(hostname)

241

Common Filters

/cmsindex.php?p=12341332&g=an12de234

My Company Home Page

/cmsindex.php?p=89343423&g=hi10xerw42

My Company Products: Category A

/cmsindex.php?p=89981234&g=12u123098

My Company Services: About Us

/cmsindex.php?p=11161239&g=bnn34s3w1

My Company Privacy Policy

Custom
Advanced Filter
(URI/Title/URI)
242

Quiz

What is the most likely problem if you see your


own site in as a referral in Traffic Sources?
What is a possible reason Goal Conversions dont
match the # of funnel completions?
If your goal was to reach this page:
/mypage.html
Why might you have more pageviews than goal
conversions?

243

Resources
Webshare Blog:
http://WebshareDesign.com/conversion-marketing-blog/

Google Analytics

http://www.google.com/analytics
http://www.google.com/analytics/support_partner_provided.html
http://groups.google.com/group/analytics-help
http://www.conversionuniversity.com

URL Builder Tool:


http://www.google.com/support/analytics/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=55578

Website Optimizer
http://www.google.com/websiteoptimizer
http://www.google.com/websiteoptimizer/partners.html

Additional Tools
http://www.crazyegg.com (site overlay)

WebShare
http://www.WebshareDesign.com
244

Thank You!

245

BACKUP

246

Google Checkout

Analytics

Why use Google Checkout?


Allow your users another way to pay
Transaction fee of 2% + $0.20 / transaction

Receive 10x your AdWords spend in waived

transaction fees.
247

Google Checkout - Configuration

1. Enable E-commerce tracking in your profile:

http://code.google.com/apis/checkout/developer/checkout_analytics_integration.html
248

Google Checkout - Configuration

2a. Digitally Signed XML API Request:

GA.js

XML API?

http://code.google.com/apis/checkout/developer/checkout_analytics_integration.html
249

Google Checkout - Configuration

2b. Server to Server Checkout API:

one more step:

http://code.google.com/apis/checkout/developer/checkout_analytics_integration.html
250

Google Checkout - Configuration

3. Configure your Goals:


/placeOrder.html

/login.html

/purchaseComplete.html

251

Google Checkout - Configuration

3. Configure your Goals:

252

Old Code Vs New Code

Which code should I use?


Urchin.js is the legacy code
Still works
Wont support new features
GA.js is the current version

All Examples
today are
using GA.js

Smaller, object oriented


Supports new features
Function names change (urchinTracker(), etc.)
Can use both on a site, but not on the same page.
253

Linking AdSense and Analytics


Analytics

Scenario 1:Have AS, but not GA yet


Scenario 2:Have separate AS and GA accounts

254

YouTube Brand Channel

255

New AdWords Rules


Cost Data Applied
Manual
Tagging

Cost Data NOT Applied

No Change:
Cost data report attributed to
AdWords campaign
Campaign data (AdWords visits) are
attributed to tagged campaigns

No Change:
No cost data
Campaign data (AdWords visits) attributed to
tagged campaigns

Auto
Tagging

No Change:
Clicks data in AdWords report
attributed to AdWords
campaign, AdWords visits are
attributed to AdWords campaigns

Big Change:
No cost data
AdWords visits show as
source = google
medium=cpc
(not cost data)

No
Tagging

No Change:
No cost data
AW visits show as Google
(organic)

No Change:
No cost data
No campaign data (AW visits)

Multiple AdWords Accounts?


Contact WebShare or your Google rep.
256

You might also like