You are on page 1of 14

Rights Management

Rights Management

EPLAN Training

Rights Management

Managing Users ............................................................................................3


1.1

Create users .............................................................................................3

1.2

Edit users ..................................................................................................4

1.3

Delete users..............................................................................................6

1.4

Assign users to groups .............................................................................7

Managing User Groups ................................................................................9


2.1

Create user groups ...................................................................................9

2.2

Edit user groups......................................................................................10

2.3

Delete user groups..................................................................................11

2.4

Assign editing rights to groups ................................................................11

Logging on or Changing Users .................................................................13


3.1

Log on users ...........................................................................................13

3.2

Switch users............................................................................................13

This functionality is only available for certain module packages. Info

EPLAN Training

Rights Management

Managing Users

The rights management allows you to create users and assign them to particular user
groups. You can also subsequently edit or delete users.

1.1

Create users

Utilities > Rights management


1. To the left of the Rights management dialog, select the User folder, and click
[New].

2. In the User dialog, enter a name and short description of the new user.
Note:

In EPLAN, the user name is always managed in capital letters (as in


Windows). This means that, in EPLAN, the users "Paul Smith" and "PAUL
SMITH" define the same person with the same rights.

EPLAN Training

Rights Management

3.
4. You can assign a password in the Password field. To avoid typing errors on
entry, you must enter the password a second time into the Confirm password
field.
To ensure protection of your input, the password is not displayed in plain
text but rather as * characters.

5. Click [OK].
The dialog is closed and you are returned to the Rights management
dialog. The user is now created in EPLAN, but still has no editing rights since
they do not yet belong to a group.

6. Assign the user to one or more groups as described in the section "Editing
Users".
The user received the appropriate editing rights.

1.2

Edit users

Utilities > Rights management

EPLAN Training

Rights Management
1. To the left of the Rights management dialog, select the User folder.

2. Select a (self-defined) user name in the right-hand field and click [Edit].

3. In the User dialog, change the name, description and password and then click
[OK].
The dialog is closed and the changed data is displayed in the Rights
management dialog.

EPLAN Training

Rights Management

1.3

Delete users

Utilities > Rights management


Note:

The EPLAN pre-defined users cannot be changed or deleted.

1. To the left of the Rights management dialog, select the User folder.

EPLAN Training

Rights Management
2. Select a (self-defined) user name in the right-hand field and click [Delete].
After confirmation of the warning message, the user name is deleted.

1.4

Assign users to groups

Utilities > Rights management

EPLAN Training

Rights Management
1. in the Rights management dialog, click the plus sign next to the User folder
to open the folder and select a user name.
The existing user groups are displayed in the right-hand side of the dialog.

2. Select the check box corresponding to the user groups for which you wish the
user to be a member of.
The editing rights of the respective groups are assigned to the user. The
assignments are stored as soon as you leave the dialog by clicking [OK].

This functionality is only available for certain module packages. Info

EPLAN Training

Rights Management

Managing User Groups

The rights management allows you to create user groups and assign particular
editing rights to them. You can also subsequently edit or delete user groups.

2.1

Create user groups

Utilities > Rights management


1. To the left of the Rights Management dialog, select the Groups folder, and
click [New].

2. In the Group dialog, enter a name and short description of the allowed editing
rights of the new user group.

EPLAN Training

Rights Management
3. Click [OK].
The group is created but editing rights have not yet been assigned.

4. Assign editing rights to the group as described under "Editing user groups".

2.2

Edit user groups

Utilities > Rights management


1. To the left of the Rights management dialog, select the Group folder.

2. Select a (self-defined) user group in the right-hand field and click [Edit].

3. In the Group dialog, change the name or description.

4. Click [OK].

EPLAN Training

10

Rights Management
The dialog is closed and the changed data is displayed in the Rights
management dialog.

2.3

Delete user groups

Utilities > Rights management


Note:

The EPLAN pre-defined user groups cannot be changed or deleted.

1. To the left of the Rights management dialog, select the Group folder.

2. Select a (self-defined) user group in the right-hand field and click [Delete].
After confirmation of the warning message, the group name is deleted.

2.4

Assign editing rights to groups

Utilities > Rights management


1. in the Rights management dialog, click the plus sign next to the Group folder
to open the folder and select a user group.
EPLAN Training

11

Rights Management
The existing editing rights are displayed in the right-hand side.

2. Select the check box in front of the user groups in which the current user is to
be a member. Click the plus sign to open the subordinate rights.
If all subordinate rights are deselected, then the check box for the
superordinate entry is displayed in gray.
Tip:
The editing rights are thematically grouped. You can assign the entire editing
rights for a particular thematic area by selecting the check box in front of
the superordinate entry.

3.
4. Click [OK].
The editing rights are assigned to the respective groups.

This functionality is only available for certain module packages. Info

EPLAN Training

12

Rights Management

Logging on or Changing Users

Precondition:
You are using the "Logon" operating mode.

3.1

Log on users

The Logon dialog is automatically displayed when EPLAN starts.


1. Enter the user name and password and click [OK].
EPLAN checks if the user is correctly set up and the password is correct. If
this is the case then you are logged on under your user name.

3.2

Switch users

1. Select the menu item Project > Switch user.

2. Enter the user name and password into the Logon dialog and click [OK].
EPLAN checks if the user is correctly set up and the password is correct. If
this is the case then you are logged on under the new user name.

EPLAN Training

13

Rights Management

EPLAN Training

14