Professional Documents
Culture Documents
For many years now, among the author’s personal advocacies has been to teach
basic finance for non-accountants. This started by chance during the early stages of his
professional career when he was first sent to a graduate school to attend a live-in
advance executive management development program. Being the only CPA assigned to a
sub-group within his class during the course, he was asked by his classmates who were
then engineers, lawyers and marketing guys to help them understand basic finance.
Later, while working with a large multi-national company covering the Asian
Region, he was also asked to conduct accounting courses for top non-finance executives
working in a number of other Asian countries. Gradually, as this unique corporate
involvement expanded to become one of his favourite pastime and personal advocacies,
he was getting numerous requests from friends to conduct basic accounting and finance
for Rotary Clubs, local Chambers of Commerce, and various NGOs.
Meanwhile, the author has also maintained his active membership with the Financial
Executives Institute of the Philippines (FINEX) where he was Chairman of its SME
Committee for a number of years. He was also an active member in other FINEX
committees (Finance, Publication, National Affairs, Budget) while also writing business
articles for various newspapers mostly covering SME-related topics.
On the side, he’d been one of DTI’s Business Counsellors for SMEs. From time to
time, he also conducts accounting seminars organized by DTI-BSMED for small business
owners and would-be entrepreneurs who don’t have basic knowledge in Accounting.
The author had also been associated mostly with multi-national corporations
occupying various key Finance and top executive level positions both here and abroad.
He retired three years ago but has continued his personal advocacy works although
on a limited scale now – to spend more time with his grandchildren and also to travel
locally and overseas with his wife, to visit relatives and friends.
Preface
With his invaluable support, I’ve finally completed this project that
successfully led to the maiden publication of Simplified Accounting
Handbook for Small Business.
We always hear this popular saying: laughter is the best (and free)
medicine. By nature, we automatically laugh when we hear hilarious
stories or see anything that looks amusing.
It’s said that humour facilitates easy learning because laughter tends to
give us a positive feeling effect. And when we’re feeling positive, our
brains become more motivated, energetic, creative, and productive.
Most of the caricatures used in this handbook were taken from royalty-
free sources from Global Software Publishing and Wiz Technology, Inc. A
number of comic strips were also taken from office.microsoft.com and other
open sources available in the web. One particular relevant comic drawing
was culled from a recent issue of the Philippine Daily Inquirer.
Napoleon T. Cabello
np14cabello@gmail.com
For my grandchildren, for reminding me that life is not a matter of
milestones but of moments….........
“Not everything that can be counted, counts and not
everything that counts can be counted.” (William Bruce
Cameron)
--------------------
“It’s what you learn after you knew it all that counts.”
(John Wooden, American College Basketball coach)
---------------------
“Never doubt that a small group of committed
individuals can change the world. Indeed, it is the only
thing that ever has.” (Margaret Mead, anthropologist)
----------------------
“Small opportunities are often the beginning of a great
enterprise.” (Demosthenes)
-----------------------
“To open a business is easy; to keep it open is very
difficult.” (Chinese proverb)
------------------------
“There will no progress if you keep on doing things
exactly the same way all the time.” (Masaaki, author of
Kaizen)
-------------------------
“If a man goes into business with only the idea of
making money, the chances he won’t.” (Joyce Clyde Hall,
founder, Hallmark Cards, Inc.)
The Golden Rules of Accounting (condensed)
The “going-concern” concept – when we keep the books, we
assume that an enterprise will remain in business for a foreseeable
future.
Historical monetary terms – all transactions are expressed in
monetary terms based on historical cost.
Conservatism – it requires that losses be recognized as soon as
they can be quantifiable, while gains must be recorded only when
earned.
Consistency – once an organization selects a particular accounting
method, it must continue to use that method unless a change is
made and then announced.
Full disclosure – any change in accounting method that has a
material impact must be fully disclosed together with the
corresponding significant amount involved.
Time period principle – it requires that an enterprise should
prepare financial statements on a periodic basis.
Entity rule – only business-related transactions which must be fully
documented are to be recorded in the books of the company.
Matching rule – revenues or sales must be matched to expenses or
costs incurred to produce the products or services within the
accounting cycle (usually one year).
Most enterprises now if not all, are using a “Debit and Credit
Journal Entry” system or otherwise called “Double-Entry”
Bookkeeping.
There are two ways in keeping the books of accounts of a
company: (1) Cash basis; and (2) Accrual method.
Table of Contents
Preface
Chapter 1: Introduction 1
2. That said, how much or how fast one could learn Accounting
within a shortest time possible?
**********************
If they say that flower is the language of love, then conversely, we can
claim that accounting is the language of business.
There is also a saying that there are only two things that are certain to
happen in this life: one is death and the other, taxes! Just like sunrise or
sunset, taxes are inevitable unless of course, it’s already the end of the
world.
I hope you’ll find some feeling of relief after reading Chapter 2 on the
subject Misperceptions about Accounting (and Accountants).
5
Unless you’re already rich, most business owners
need external financing that could either come from
investors, lenders or suppliers. Understandably, these
financiers would like to be reasonably assured of
your financial capacity to pay off your debts by
looking first at your financial reports.
6
Annex “A” shows a condensed simulated
flow of sample journal entries that goes into the
Income Statement and Balance Sheet. Note that
this is just a shortened version of a typical
accounting cycle.
Some cautions though after you have read this handbook. It is not an
all-inclusive Accounting book. Its main objectives are limited to the
following:
7
c) To appreciate the use of various analytical tools and financial
ratios especially in managing a business from a practical point of
view.
Good examples of some these that were not extensively covered in this
handbook are as follows:
(iii) Computation and payment for VAT or sales tax, real estate
tax, and other business taxes, where applicable.
8
Lastly, after reading this handbook and you’re
able to understand the fundamentals of financial
statements and relate their basic financial
implications to your business situation, then I’m
confident that you would be on your way to real
“basic accounting literacy”!
9
2. Misperceptions about Accounting (and
Accountants)
Just like any other profession, Accounting and the accountants are not
without their own twists, misperceptions, or biases.
You may be surprised to hear that what I’ll tell you may not be the
usual reply that most people expect.
Fast forward to the modern world and we may have inherited that
instinct as already part of our second nature. Observe for instance our
usual activities after waking up in the morning to go to work. What do we
do? After you dress up, your other routine most likely would be to see if
10
you have enough cash for the day to pay for your bus fares, parking fees,
meals, etc.
There is another possible reason why people generally shy away from
reading Accounting books in the manner these books are being sold in
most bookstores.
12
dismayed to discover I could not find any although I found one in one
branch outlet but it was 2-inch thick and very pricey!
I’ve also observed that accounting books are usually displayed side-
by-side with already intimidating thick books on Mathematics. No
wonder, not too many would attempt to touch these poor Accounting
books with a 10-foot pole!
Anyway, it would not be the end of the world if you cannot fully grasp
how debits and credits technically work in accounting – just as you don’t
have to fully understand how unbelievably fast your PC is able to compute
complicated and tedious mathematical functions in a matter of seconds!
After knowing some myths about the Accounting profession, now let’s
look at the poor and misunderstood accountants and hear some jokes about
them (remember how laughter can do wonders!). Here goes:
13
“Accountant is someone who solves the problem you did not know
you had in a way you don’t understand.”
“There are three types of accountant: those who can count and
those who can’t.”
But don’t get me wrong. I still like my fellow accountants for the
following “amusing” reasons:
They are a very optimistic breed when they say that “for every exit
there must be some entry somewhere” (that’s debit and credit
bookkeeping).
They are ‘nosy’ because they always like “to see the other side of
the coin” (that’s double-entry accounting).
14
Accountants cannot afford to sleep on the
job otherwise they would not be able to
have every debit and credit transaction
balanced against each other. (I have the
suspicion this was the real intent of the
father of accounting when he instituted
the double-entry bookkeeping!).
They still believe that money is not what really counts though it
must be counted to the last centavo.
As you can see this time, accountants are not really boring
professionals. They are just seriously passionate in everything they do
during their waking moments.
15
3. What is Accounting?
Let’s therefore go back a bit to history and see how a simple way of
monitoring critical survival items badly needed by early cave dwellers –
had evolve into what is now called accounting or bookkeeping.
19
4. The Golden Rules of Accounting
20
c) Conservatism – it requires that losses be
recognized as soon as they can be
quantifiable, while gains must be recorded
only when earned.
k) There are two ways in keeping the books of accounts: (i) Cash
basis; and (ii) Accrual method. This will be lengthily discussed in
Chapter 6.
22
The double-entry bookkeeping and other accounting principles
enumerated above are necessary to produce accurate and reliable
financial reports for the use of business owners, managers, and
outside stakeholders (investors, lenders, government).
23
5 Double Entry Bookkeeping
Debit Credi
t
b) A Debit is always a positive number (+)
with the corresponding Credit a negative
number (-).
c) The sums of all Debit entries and the sums of all Credit entries
must equal in value. This formula serves as an error detection tool
to maintain mathematical accuracy.
24
d) Double entry accounting is based the
principle that every financial
transaction has equal and opposite
effects in at least two different
accounts. This is to satisfy the
following equation: Asset = Liabilities
+ Capital + Income – Expenses
25
f) Below are general rules in journalizing Debit
and Credit transactions resulting in upward and
downward effects in the financial statements:
When you gave up your cash to buy a car (Credit Cash and Debit
Fixed Asset).
When you received something but you have to pay it back later
like a bank loan (Credit Loans Payable).
(Actually what your bank is telling you is correct from its point of
view as the lender; in your case, you’re in the opposite end as the
borrower).
27
Anyway, it would not be the end of the world if you cannot fully
grasp at this time how debits and credits technically work in
accounting – just as you don’t have to fully understand how your
PC is able to compute complicated and tedious mathematical
functions or how your engine actually works when you drive your
car to work.
Table 1
28
Table 2
Table 3
29
Table 4
30
Table 5
T-Account Ledgers
Cash Acct. Rec'ble Inventories Capital Stock
Debit Credit Debit Credit Debit Credit Debit Credit
(a) 3,000 (b) 4,000 (c) 3,000 (b) 3,000 (a) 3,000
(d) 1,000 (f) 1,000
(e) 2,000
Tot 6,000 Tot 5,000
Bal 1,000 Bal 3,000 Bal 3,000 Bal 3,000
31
6. Cash Basis vs. Accrual Accounting Methods
(a) Record a receipt of cash after your bank has validated your deposit.
(a) Revenues are recognized when the products are delivered and
received by your customers even if they have not yet paid the
shipment.
32
account (Accrued Expenses Payable) to record your company’s
obligation to pay your supplier later under agreed payment terms.
(b) The financial trends in your operations don’t show wide swings or
peaks-and-valley picture of your financial performance because as
stated earlier, you consistently record your revenue for instance
every time there’s shipment even if not yet paid by your customer.
Journal
General Ledger
Cash Receipts Book
Cash Disbursements Book
too many books!!!
Sales Book
Purchases Book
Subsidiary ledgers for Accounts Receivable and Payable
34
The BIR allows three types of Books of Accounts as follows:
Chart of Accounts
Usually, this account listing is sub-divided into two main sections: one
set of accounts is specifically grouped under Balance Sheet, and the other
under Income Statement.
On the other hand, examples of accounts for balance sheet are: Cash,
Accounts Receivable, Inventories, Land, Vehicles, Accounts Payable,
Loans Payable, etc.
35
Each business creates its own Chart of Accounts based on the nature of
its operation, so you’ll unlikely find two companies with exact listing of
accounts. However, it’s not uncommon to see similar or exact names of
certain accounts that share similar major characteristics such as what I
cited above.
Accounting Cycle
36
Shown below are the seven major steps involved in the accounting
cycle described above.
For one, they would already have memorized almost all account names
listed respectively under balance sheet and also income statement
categories. This listing is called Chart of Accounts as mentioned above.
37
They must also have understood by heart most if not all the accounting
principles already enumerated in the early chapters of this handbook.
a) All Debits (Dr.) are positive (+) numbers to record asset and
expense entries only. Any decrease is recorded as a Credit.
Debit Credit
Sales of products on credit... Accts. Rec’ble Sales
Sales on cash basis………... Cash Sales
Loan received from a bank... Cash Loans Payable
Capital contribution……….. Cash Cap. Stock
Accrual of salary expense…. Salary Exp. Accr. Exp. Pay.
To lighten you up, let me pose the following trivia to tickle your mind:
39
An Accounting system even how simple
cannot be complete without a Chart of
Accounts. A bookkeeper or accountant uses
this as an important reference before he can
make accurate journal entries. Please refer to
Chapter 14 marked Annex “E” for a good
example of a typical Chart of Accounts.
40
8. Financial Statements in General
Cash Flow
Statement
There are three basic financial statements that are normally prepared
for an enterprise but only two are directly recorded in its books of
accounts, namely: (i) Income Statement and (ii) Balance Sheet.
There are no separate books or ledgers kept for the 3rd financial report
which is called Cash Flow Statement. This is merely a reconstruction of
increases and decreases of ledger balances between two periods (usually
current year vs. prior year). I’ll explain this further in Chapter 11.
41
The Income Statement is as important to your understanding of a
company’s financial operation as the Balance Sheet. The Cash Flow
Statement is somewhat secondary in a sense that it merely monitors the
sources and uses of cash that flowed through an entity during a period
(usually a year) – after these transactions would have already been
reflected in the other two financial statements.
Very briefly, the Income Statement shows the “moving” results of the
financial operation of a company consisting of sales revenues (income)
less expenses for a given period (usually a year).
For instance, when you sell your products, the resulting asset debit
account (“Accounts Receivable”) will go to the Balance Sheet. On the
other hand, the corresponding credit account as “Sales Revenue” will be
recorded in the Income Statement.
However, when your customer pays you later, this transaction will
only be recorded in the Balance Sheet as debit to “Cash” and credit to
“Accounts Receivable”.
In the following page is Table 6 which shows the flow of these journal
entries into balance sheet and income statement.
42
Table 6
43
9. Income Statement
Income Statement
Income Statement
● It shows the
results of financial
Net Sales/Revenue
operations of the
company for a
less Total Expenses
given period
(revenues –
expenses).
It is a statement = Net Income
of what and how
well the company
had done.
Thus, the Income Statement begins from zero at the start of the
accounting period like starting January 1st). This is because the Net
Income (Loss) residue of the previous year has already been previously
closed out and transferred to Owners’ Equity in the Balance sheet.
The key sections of an Income Statement are shown in Table 7 and its
typical format can be seen in Table 8.
44
Table 7
This shows the revenues, income, and expenses of the company for a
particular period usually a year for tax purposes. However, interim I/S is
also prepared covering a month, a quarter, or semi-annual depending on the
company’s accounting cycle.
Table 8
Income Statement
For the Year ended 12-31-12
45
A full-blown pro-forma Income Statement is shown in Chapter 14
marked ANNEX “B”.
Just like in sales, the cost of materials and other expenses should
not include the Input Tax (VAT) portion.
46
Marketing & Selling – Expenses related to the sales and supply
chain functions and other costs associated with marketing and field
sales departments.
There are only two buckets that each accounting entry will fall
into: (1) Balance Sheet; and (2) Income Statement. The 3rd Cash
Flow Statement is not included in the picture (do you know why?).
In the Income Statement, recall that there are only two main
groupings of transactions:
In the Balance Sheet, there are also two main groupings: (i) Assets
are all positive (+) numbers; (ii) Liabilities and Net Worth (Capital
and Retained Earnings) are all negative (-) numbers.
47
Corollary to the above, all Debits are positive (+) numbers while
all Credits are negative (-) numbers. No exception!
48
10.What is a Balance Sheet?
Balance Sheet
As of Dec. 31, 2012
Assets Liab. & Equity
To understand the balance sheet, you must first understand how money
moves in out of the company. Every transaction that an enterprise
conducts represents either an inflow (from sales, loans or contribution of
capital stock) or outflow (purchases of materials, expenses) of cash.
In addition, there are other transactions that are non-cash in nature that
should also be taken into consideration. These are: depreciation of fixed
assets or amortization of certain deferred charges like Research &
Development.
49
In general, anything the company owns can be
classified as an asset (inventories, vehicles,
buildings, etc.). Assets have one thing in common
– they are to generate cash (even cash still
generates cash by placing it as an investment).
The word asset comes from the French word assez meaning ‘enough’.
Originally, it was used because the property of a proprietor was judged in
terms of whether it was sufficient for him to pay off his debt later.
The assets of a company which are normally shown in the left side of
the balance sheet are classified under the following account categories:
50
Current Assets
These include cash and other resources that are
expected to turn into cash or to be used up within one
year of the balance sheet date. Normally these consist
of cash on hand and/or in banks, marketable securities
or short-term investments, accounts receivable (owed
by customers who buy from the company on credit),
inventories (finished products or raw materials).
Fixed Assets
This category named Fixed Assets is
also captioned as Property, Plant &
Equipment. This includes land, buildings,
machinery, furniture, equipment, and other
fixed assets which normally have a shelf
life of more than one year. In zest, it’s said
that any durable item that would outlast
the final instalment payment could be
considered a fixed asset.
51
The following are normally shown in the rights side of the balance
sheet:
Current Liabilities
Usually the first on the list here is Accounts Payable which represents
amounts due within one year the company owes to its suppliers or
contractors.
Long-term Debt
Stockholders’ Equity
This is also called in its abbreviated name ‘equity’. This refers to the
financial stake the owners have in the company.
Normally, the company has assets, and after you deduct what it owes
to anyone, then what is left is the equity. Note that this number can be zero
or even negative if an enterprise owes more than its assets.
52
This situation is not impossible especially if a Net Loss
business has continued losses eventually eating
up its retained earnings or even the owner’s
original capital.
Table 9
Balance Sheet
As of Dec. 31, 2012 and 2011
2012 2011 2012 2011
ASSETS LIAB. & EQUITY
(what we own) (who we owe)
Cash Accts. Payable
Current Current
Assets Accts Rec’ble Loans Payable Liab.
Accrued Expenses
Inventory Stocks
Fixed Assets Long-term Debt Non-Curr. Liab.
Non- Def. Charges/
Def EQUITY
current
Assets Other Assets (what belongs to
stockholders)
Goodwill Capital + Ret. Earnings - dividends
Total = Total
This shows what the company owns, owes, and what belongs to the
stockholders as of a certain period end such as :year-end, month-
end, quarter-end, etc.
Note that all assets and liabilities are explicitly sub-divided into
current and non-current portions as you can see in the above. This sub-
53
classification is important in determining current ratios, liquid ratios, and
other financial ratios mentioned in Chapter 13.
By the way, why is Balance Sheet named as such? It’s not as you
might think, called a balance sheet merely because the totals of the left and
right sides are balanced. The reason rather is because a balance sheet is a
listing of all ledger balances remaining after compiling all revenues and
deducting expenses which results in a net balance (either a net income or
net loss). This residue is then transferred to another sheet now called
Balance Sheet (sounds tricky?).
Asset by its nature is always a Debit (+). Thus, when you buy an
asset, you debit that account; if you dispose an asset, you credit
that same asset account.
54
11.The Cash Flow Statement
Introducing the
Cash Flow
Statement (CFS)
55
The basic concepts of a Cash Flow Statement are summarized below.
The cash flow concepts described in item (a) through (h) above are
also illustrated in a tabular worksheet as shown in Table 10 below.
Table 10
Cash Flow Statement
Source of Use of
2012 2011 Funds Funds
Net Income for 2012 (1,070) 1,070
Accumulated Depreciation (3,600) (3,000) 600
Accounts Receivable 4,000 3,800 200
Inventories 5,400 6,000 600
Accounts Payable (2,700) (2,680) 20
Accrued Expenses Payable (1,660) (1,600) 60
Income Tax Payable (640) (380) 260
From Operating Activities 2,610 200
57
Using the worksheet data in Table 10, a typical output format of the
Cash Flow Statement is then prepared as shown in Table 11 below.
Table 11
Sample A Company, Inc.
Cash Flow Statement
For the Year ended December 31, 2012
58
I summarize in Table 12 below a graphic movement of cash starting from the
time you generated cash from operation up to time you used the funds to pay
your suppliers or pay off your maturing loans. Any cash residue would then be
allocated to pay dividends or set aside some money to maintain your plant or
replace your old equipment, or to expand your business.
Table 12
Lower:
Inventory
Accounts Receivable
Supplies
Prepaid Expenses Positive
Cash Flow
Net Income = Operating Expenses
+ Depreciation
Higher:
Accounts Payable
Accrued Expense
Accrued Taxes
59
12. Importance of Financial Statements
60
Financial inputs are also equally needed in deciding
either to sustain or expand a business. Without this
information, you run the risk of running out of cash,
unnecessary wastage of your valuable resources, or
missing out on opportunities to increase your current
market base.
61
Under certain circumstances, the preparation of financial
statements is not an option. It’s mandatory especially on the part of
government authorities as can be seen in Table 14.
Don’t forget that your bankers, major suppliers and contractors are
also your important business partners, associates, and concerned
stakeholders too. You should maintain their trust in you by
providing them the needed information about your business as
enumerated in Tables 15.A and 15.B.
Table 13
Why are Financial Statements (F/S) important?
1. With globalization and stiff
competition, corporations now cannot live
without numbers. Accounting is often
regarded as the language of business.
can’t find my
2. F/S are important scorecard tools for
scoresheet! managers and owners of the business.
No F/S is just like playing basketball
without keeping score…
62
Table 14
63
Table 15.A
Knowing your Lenders/Suppliers/Contractors
(1 0f 2)
1. Lenders are not content
with shrinking equity which
means you’re not making
money.
Table 15.B
Knowing your Lenders/Suppliers/Contractors
(2 0f 2)
Table 15.B
4. Impress your lenders
with your management
skills, knowledge about
your industry, and
reliability of your financial
data.
64
13. Financial Analyses & Ratios
65
Simply put, ratios are percentage relationships between two account
balances appearing in the balance sheet and income statement which
usually cover a current year with comparison to the same trends for the
prior year(s).
Liquidity Ratios
Solvency Ratios
Profitability Ratios
The following are not part of the conventional financial ratios but just
the same I have included them here as they are also equally considered
important analytical tools to me in determining how cost-effective and
efficient your company is being run:
Break-even Analysis
Suppliers’ Discount Rate
Liquidity Ratios
66
Cash Conversion Cycle
Table 16
Days
Days Sales Outstanding (DSO) 64.7
Days Sales Inventory (DSI) 126.9
Days Sales Payable (DSP) (59.9)
Net Cash Conversion Cycle 131.7
This means it took you 131.7 days (4.39 mos.)
to convert your receivables and inventories
into cash.
Solvency Ratios
67
The proportion of debt the company uses to run its operation.
The company’s capability to pay the interest on that debt.
Profitability Ratios
For item # 2: Using the same numbers shown in the above, then 12
million divide by 5.4 million equals 2.2.
68
For the calculations of all liquidity ratios described above, please refer
to Tables 17.A and 17.B.
Table 17.A
Liquidity Ratios (1 of 2)
1) “Working Capital” measures a company’s capability to pay its
current obligations. Formula:
Current Assets - Current Liabilities = 6,600,000
3) “Quick Ratio” (or Quick Asset Ratio or Acid Test Ratio) which is a
more stringent measure of liquidity. Formula:
Curr. Assets less Inventories & Prep. Exp.)/Curr. Liabilities
less Overdrafts & accruals = 1.76
This means the company has a good portion of its current
assets in liquid assets rather than in inventories. Lenders like to
see a quick ratio greater than 1.5
69
Table 17.B
Liquidity Ratios (2 of 2)
4) To compute “Days Sales Outstanding” (DSO), first you have to compute the
Receivable Turnover:
Credit Sales/Average Acct. Receivable Balance = 5.64
DSO Formula: 365/Receivable turnover (5.64) = 64.7
64.7 is the average collection period or days sales outstanding. This means the
ave. credit terms for your customers is over 2 months. The lower the DSO the better.
70
Formulas for Solvency Ratios
Refer to Table 18.A and 18.B below for the computation of solvency
ratios described above.
Table 18.A
Solvency Ratios (1 of 2)
These ratios measure how stable or leveraged a business is
on the long-run and examine two key elements:
71
Table 18.B
Solvency Ratios (2 of 2)
3) Asset to Equity Ratio: Total Assets/Average Equity = 2.3
A high ratio here may indicate the company has taken on
substantial debt merely to remain in business; this could result in
higher interest cost putting its financial position in jeopardy.
72
Formulas for Profitability Ratios
Table 19.A
Table 19.A
“Profitability Ratios” measure the co.’s earning power
& management’s efficiency in running its operations
(1 0f 2)
73
Table 19.B
“Profitability Ratios” measure the co.’s earning power
& management’s efficiency in running its operations
(2 of 2)
Break-even Analysis
For the 1st approach, you determine first your present gross margin
which is in this case, 25.5% as shown in Table 19.A above.
For the 2nd factor, you compute first your existing unit margin (selling
price per unit less production cost per unit) which in this case, is P127.27
(P500.00-372.73).
Table 20
1. Break-even Analysis
To compute “Break-even” Sales where:
> Amount of Fixed Cost is P3,570.000
> Variable Cost is 74.55% of Sales
> Formula:
Amount of fixed Cost
100% - Variable Cost %
P3,570,000
100% - 74.55%
> Amount of “Break-even” Sales: P14,027,505
75
Table 21
2. Break-even Analysis
To compute “Break-even” Number of units sold where:
> Amount of Fixed Cost is P3,570.000
> Ave. Unit Price is P500 and ave. Unit Cost is
P372.73
> Formula:
Amount of fixed Cost
Unit Price – Unit Cost
P3,570,000
P500 – P372.73
> No. of units to be sold to break-even : 28,050.6 units
76
The formulas used here are contained in Table 22 as shown in the
following page.
Table 22
Formula:
Discount % x 360
1- Disc.%) (Days Credit) – (Discount Period)
Where the terms are: 2/10, net 30, the cost if discount is
not taken is computed below:
2 x 360 = 36.7%
(100 – 2) (30-10)
77
14: ANNEXES
78
ANNEX A.1
3-Jan-12 0001 Deposited initial capital of the company 5,000 Capital Stock (5,000) 0
4-Mar-12 0002 Interest income on savings acct. # 1 50 (50) 0
7-Jun-12 0003 Proceeds of scraps sold 100 (100) 0
9-Aug-12 0004 Recived Insurance claims 1,000 (1,000) 0
11-Aug-12 0005 Borrowed money from the bank 10,000 Loan Payable (10,000) 0
12-Aug-12 0006 Cash Sales per Inv. 20001-20050 4,800 (5,000) 200 0
13-Sep-12 0007 Proceeds of scraps sold 20 (20) 0
14-Sep-12 0008 Interest income on savings acct. # 2 60 (60) 0
17-Oct-12 0009 Cash Sales per Inv. 20051-20080 3,000 (3,000) 0
20-Oct-12 0010 Proceeds of scraps sold 80 (80) 0
21-Oct-12 0011 Cash Sales per Inv. 20081-20100 7,500 (8,000) 500 0
24-Nov-12 0012 Proceeds of scraps sold 30 (30) 0
24-Dec-12 0013 Interest income on savings acct. # 3 75 (75) 0
24-Dec-12 0014 Sales on credit per Inv. 20101-20150 (2,000) Acct. Rec'ble 2,000 0
24-Dec-12 0014 Cash Sales per Inv. 20101-20150 4,000 (4,000) 0
Total for January 35,715 (22,000) 700 (185) (1,230) (15,000) 0
Dr. Cr.
Summary of Journal Entries
Dr. Cash 35,715
Dr. Sales Returns 700
Dr. Accounts Receivable 2,000
Cr. Sales (22,000)
Cr. Interest Income (185)
Cr. Other Income (1,230)
Cr. Capital Stock (5,000)
Cr. Loan Payable (10,000)
Control Totals 38,415 (38,415) 0 Note: Figures in parenthesis are Credits
ANNEX A.2
General Ledger
Capital Stock 7,500 2,500 Net Operating Profit (Loss) 2,650 (500)
Total Liabilities & Equity 13,065 2,000 Net Profit (Loss) 2,765 (500)
Control Total ===================> 0 0
ANNEX “B”
2012 2011
Gross Sales 23,200,000 21,500,000
Less: Returns/Discounts (1,200,000) (1,100,000)
Net Sales 22,000,000 100.00% 20,400,000 100.00%
Other Expenses
Interest Expense 270,000 1.23% 300,000 1.47%
Other Income
Interest Income 100,000 0.45% 80,000 0.39%
Total Assets 19,400,000 18,690,000 Total Liab. & Owners' Equity 19,400,000 18,690,000
ANNEX “D”
Other Assets
1900 Goodwill
1910 Other Non-current Assets
Current Liabilities
2010 Accounts Payable
2020 Taxes Payable
2030 Salaries Payable
2040 Accrued Expenses
2050 Interest Payable
Annex E.2
Current Liabilities (continued)
2060 Notes/Loans Payable
2100 Current Deferred Credits
2200 Other Current Deferred Revenues
Long-term Liabilities
2510 Mortgage Loan Payable
2540 Bonds Payable
2560 Discount on Bonds Payable
2580 Other Long-term Debt
Stockholders' Equity
2710 Capital Stock
2720 Preferred Stock
2750 Retained Earnings
2760 Dividends
2790 Treasury Stock
Operating Revenues
3100 Gross Sales Revenue
3200 Sales Returns & Allowances
3250 Trade Discounts
3300 Gross Sales Revenues - Others
3400 Sales Returns & Allowances - Others
3450 Trade Discounts - Others