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NITIN JAIN
140103116
OBSERVATIONS MADE BY
VIRGIN
OBJECTIVE
SEGMENTATION
Identified the age segment where the Industry
penetration was the lowest, that is, between 15 years
to 29 years of age.
Mobile Phone penetration
50
40
30
Mobile Phone
penetration
20
10
0
Age 15-19 Age 20-29 Age 30-59
VirginXtras
Text messaging
Rescue Ring
Wake-up call
Ringtones
Fun clips
Hit List
Music Messenger
3 waysthe
of achieving
these goals :
Clone
Industry Prices
PROS
Easy to promote
Customers are
used to buckets
and peak hours
Less expenditure
on advertising
Simple packaging
Salesperson costs
are saved
Target Youth
market is not
stressed
No flexibility in
calling plans or
price
No real price
distinction
Customers might
not switch to Virgin
because of these
features
CONS
PROS
Earnings per
customer will be less
Growth in sales is
not equal to profits
Margins will be less
Risk of being
regarded as a low
quality service,
brand dilution
CONS
May trigger
competitive
reactions
Churn rate 2%
Prepaid Service
Rate per min in prepaid was high and was used on occasional
basis
Handset subsidies
PROS
Prepaid can
skyrocket churn rate
TG may not be able
to purchase the
product if contracts
are eliminated
Accomodating
hidden costs in
pricing was a difficult
task
Off peak hours had to
be adjusted
CONS
EVALUATION OF OPTION 3
Subsidy = 0.1*100=$10
Calculation of LTV
Pricing
Hence, p>$0.06
RECOMMENDATION
Keeping in mind that the average industry price for this usage
range is 10-25 cents
Differentiating elements :
No hidden costs
No contracts
Positive LTV