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Slide 9.

Chapter 9
Marketing communications
using digital media channels

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.2

Learning objectives
Distinguish between the different types of digital
media channels
Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of
each digital media channel for marketing
communications
Assess the suitability of different types of digital
media for different purposes

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.3

Questions for marketers


Which digital communications media should we
select for different types of campaign?
Which are the success factors which will make
our campaigns more effective?

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.4

Figure 9.1

Average percentage of traffic from different sources referred to a website

Source: Smart Insights, 2011a

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.5

Percentage who consider different information sources as important when


researching or purchasing a product or service
Figure 9.2

Source: Nielsen (2011)

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.6

Search engine results pages in Google (www.google.co.uk) illustrating the natural


and paid listings
Figure 9.3

Source: Reprinted by permission of Google, Inc. Google search engine is a trademark of Google, Inc.

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.7

Figure 9.4

Click-through rates depending on position in the natural search results

Source: Optify (2011)

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.8

Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on?

On page optimisation:

<title> tag = 4.9/5


Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5
Keyword in headings = <h1> = 3.1, <h2> = 2.8
Keyword in document name = 2.8
Meta name description = 2/5
Meta name keywords = 1/5

Off-page optimisation:

More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5


Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5
Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5
Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5
Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5
Social media signals (newer ranking signal)
See http: //www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.9

Which factors affect returns from paid search?

Distribution of daily budget

Amount bid (Max CPC).

Clickthrough rate

Creative quality including creative testing

Campaign structure

Match types especially negative matches

Use of content network

Time-of-day (day parting)

Landing page quality

Click fraud!

* In Google AdWords, Live Search and Yahoo! Quality Score especially


important
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.10

Online PR
What it?
the management of reputation - the planned and
sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill
and mutual understanding between an
organisation and its publics
The UK Institute of PR (IPR)

the managed process of communication

between one group and another (it) is the


method of defining messages and communicating
them to target audiences in order to influence a
desired response. Public Relationships Consultants Association (PRCA)

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.11

The key areas of online PR

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.12

Figure 9.5

Use of search engines for finding information related to product purchase

Source: Performics (2010)

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.13

Figure 9.6

Stages involved in producing a search engine listing for the natural listings
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.14

Figure 9.7

Gatorade social media command centre video

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.15

Smart Insights blog (www.smartinsights.com) showing content available from within


a category of social media marketing
Figure 9.8

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.16

Figure 9.9

Popularity of social sharing services in France, Germany and the United Kingdom

Source: http://www.addthis.com/services/compare-countries, accessed October 2011

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.17

The affiliate marketing model (note that the tracking software and fee payment may
be managed through an independent affiliate network manager)
Figure 9.10

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.18

Figure 9.11

Distribution of length of time against purchase

Source: Prussakov (2011b)

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.19

Figure 9.12

Behavioural ad targeting process

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.20

Figure 9.13

Banner blog (www.bannerblog.com.au) ad review site

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.21

Figure 9.14

Combination of touchpoints giving rise to sales

Source: ecircle (2011)

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.22

Figure 9.15

E-mail response measures

Source: GSI (2011) Whitepaper

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.23

Figure 9.16

E-mail service provider (www.emailreation.com)

Source: SmartFOCUS DIGITAL

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.24

Sky spend by medium compared with market share of UK internet searches,


June 05March 06
Figure 9.17

Source: The Hitwise UK Media Impact Report, September 2006

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

Slide 9.25

Summary of the strengths and weaknesses of different communications tools for promoting an online
presence
Table 9.4

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition Pearson Education Limited 2013

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